top of page

It's Not What You Think...


How do I explain what is it like to to have Christian faith in 2021?


I think most people would assume I don’t believe in science, or I think all lives matter. You might assume my political party or my stance on equal rights for everyone.


I just wanna say, I am none of the above. I have a heart for everyone. I think the unique thing that Christian faith allows me to have that the rest of the world doesn’t, is grace, love, compassion, and Jesus to walk alongside of me.


I use to think all christians were one way and sometimes I still do. It is prejudice. Not all Christians are bad. In fact, the ones who are living their faith the right way, (which is in love) are the good ones. The ones who storm the capitol and pray and claim its Jesus’ way, now those are people who need prayer.


I cannot explain to you how the world works or how Christian faith works. There are not 5 simple steps to being a Christian.


I can say, living a life of faith allows your heart to be open to so many more people and it gives you a good foundation to grow off of. Before I gave my life to the Lord I was living my way. It was my way or the high way. I am still pretty persistent in getting what I want lol, but I want what God wants for me and I know He will provide in His time.


For the past four years of my life I struggled. I wanted to be so many things that I ended up losing myself along the way. I shoved all my emotions in the back of my pocket and expected them to all go away. I was living the way of the world. I was chasing after things that would not allow me to grow. They were things that were chocking me. Killing me. Please don’t take this literally or as if I am trying to apply something to your life. All I do is share my experience and if you relate then welcome, this is the first step to an endless amount of steps my friend.


I moved away when I was 18 with the help of my wonderful parents. The deal was I went to school and they funded me. Which I am so grateful they were able and are able to do that for me. I moved away with the intention of living my best life for me. So as soon as my mom was done helping me move and hopped on her flight back to the Bay Area I cracked open the rebellious side. Parties, drinking, boys, poor choices I should say is what my days consisted of. Night after night it was the same thing; drama, getting way too drunk, walking from frat to frat. I thought I was living the dream.


Then one day I realized how empty I felt. I would sit in my room alone and realize that there was more for me. This was in 2018. It was not until 2021 I began to flourish.

One day I will type out my whole story for ya’ll but not now.


Anyway the life I was living was a wall to hide the life I actually desired. I wanted to be loved by good people, I wanted to explore Christianity, I wanted to settle down, I wanted community. So towards the middle and end of 2020 I began to live out a Christian faith way of life. I stopped what was stunting my growth and I began new ways to flourish. Some worked and some failed. That ’s life and its wonders . I gave my life to the Lord last summer of 2020 and now I have prayers answered and things in the works. I can say that this is one of the most unknowing times in my life, but because I believe God is working and has my best interest I am at ease.

(I still do stress sometimes, but I know it’ll work out.)


Christian faith is like a trust fall. It is so scary and so hard, but I know when I fall God will catch me and everything will work out. In fact, I know it’ll work out ten times better than what I expect. At this point I try to make no plans because it seems to be when I force what I want upon the world it never works out. So I they to just ride the way. It’s called surrendering control, which is an everyday choice and one that is not easy.


Christian faith is not hate, it is not storming the capitol, is is not silencing the oppressed, it is not living you the way YOU think, it is falling the Lord and where He goes and where He takes you.


You kind of just have to do. The trust fall thing again, you have to just fall into what God has for you and allow Him to work one you and create your purpose.


We could all drink and grind for all the money in the world, but let me ask you this:

Is one night where you probably can’t get your words together or even remember the next day worth more than what you could be doing to flourish?

Is all the money in the world going to solve all your problems?


Now, this is not a judgment, these are questions I ask myself when I make certain choices. You are allowed to have fun and be you. Think before you do is all I am saying, is what you’re about to do going to flourish who you are?



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page